Order of Canada: B.C. luminaries join the exclusive club

Eight British Columbians were named officers and 11 members, from cultural icons to world-leading scientists, educators, politicians and activists.

Article content

Governor General Mary Simon has released this year’s recipients of the Order of Canada, including some B.C. luminaries both familiar and lesser known who have made significant contributions to the country in a wide range of fields.


Article content

Among those joining the exclusive club of about 7,500 Canadians are companions Yann Martel, the Saskatchewan author of Life of Pi, and Murray Sinclair, a former senator and First Nations lawyer who headed the Truth and Reconciliation Commission into Indian residential schools.

No British Columbians joined that highest rank of the Order of Canada this year, but eight were named officers and 11 members, from cultural icons to world-leading scientists, educators, politicians and activists. Here is the complete list:


Pieter Cullis (Vancouver): For his contributions to the advancement of biomedical research and drug development, and for his mentorship of the next generation of scientists and entrepreneurs.


Article content

Connie J. Eaves (Vancouver): For advancing our understanding of cancer development, and for her national and international leadership in stem cell biology.

The Honourable David Ross Fitzpatrick (Kelowna): For his lifelong dedication to the cultural and economic development of the Okanagan, and for his leadership and conservation efforts in the region.

Margo Lainne Greenwood (Vernon): For her scholarship as a professor of early childhood education, and for her transformational leadership in Indigenous health policy.

Donald Chisholm McKenzie (Sidney): For his expertise in sports medicine and for his seminal research on the effectiveness of exercise as an intervention for breast cancer patients.


Article content

Jean Riley Senft (West Vancouver): For her contributions to the sport of figure skating as one of Canada’s leading judges and promoter of fairer judging rules.

Verena Tunnicliffe (Victoria): For her outstanding contributions to ocean sciences and for being a pioneer in the scientific exploration of the deep sea.

Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond (North Saanich): For her ongoing commitment to improving the child welfare system and supports for Indigenous people in B.C.


Lily Siewsan Chow (Victoria): For preserving and promoting the history of early Chinese immigrants to Canada and their contributions to the country’s social and economic development.

Janis Dunning and Jacques Lemay (Victoria): For their numerous contributions to the arts and to young artists in Canada.


Article content

Walter N. Hardy (Vancouver): For his pioneering contributions to the fields of particle physics, materials science and high-temperature superconductivity, as a distinguished theorist and experimentalist.

Jane Heyman (Vancouver): For her long-lasting contributions to Vancouver’s cultural landscape through her various roles within the theatre sector.

Joy Kathryn MacPhail (Vancouver): For her pioneering contributions to politics and for her tireless advocacy of underserved and marginalized communities.

Ralph Nilson (Nanaimo): For his exemplary leadership as a university administrator, and for his student advocacy and commitment to the process of reconciliation.

David Roche (Roberts Creek): For his pioneering contributions to the field of disability art, and for promoting acceptance, inclusion and diversity across Canada and the United States.


Article content

Diane Sowden (Powell River): For her leadership in raising awareness of and preventing the sexual exploitation and human trafficking of children and youth.

Curtis A. Suttle (Vancouver): For his innovative scholarship in the area of marine virology and for his mentorship of the next generation of scientists.

Peter Zandstra (Vancouver): For his pioneering leadership in the field of stem cell bioengineering and its subsequent innovative health and economic impacts.

David Zussman (Victoria): For his contributions to public service management and policymaking, as a scholar, public servant and sought-after adviser.

A full list of recipients is available at the governor general’s website .

— With files from The Canadian Press



Postmedia is committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion and encourage all readers to share their views on our articles. Comments may take up to an hour for moderation before appearing on the site. We ask you to keep your comments relevant and respectful. We have enabled email notifications—you will now receive an email if you receive a reply to your comment, there is an update to a comment thread you follow or if a user you follow comments. Visit our Community Guidelines for more information and details on how to adjust your email settings.

This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience.